About the CMC

Founded in 1959, the Chamber of Marine Commerce (CMC) is a bi-national, private sector, not-for-profit association that represents more than 130 marine industry stakeholders including:

  • Domestic and international ship owners and ship operators
  • Canadian and U.S. ports
  • Industrial shippers (esp. grain, iron ore, steel, cement, sugar, salt, coal, …)
  • The St. Lawrence Seaway
  • Terminals, elevators, and logistics companies
  • Marine-related companies

The Chamber advocates for safe, sustainable, harmonized and competitive policy and regulation that recognizes the marine transportation system’s significant advantages in the Great Lakes, St. Lawrence, Coastal and Arctic regions.

The marine industry is vital to our prosperity by enabling efficient trade within North America and around the world. As the safest, most efficient and environmentally smart method of carrying bulk freight, the increased use of marine transportation alleviates highway congestion, reduces greenhouse gas emissions and is a vital catalyst to overall economic growth.

Board of Directors

CMC’s Board is comprised of industry leaders from the various sector stakeholder companies that make up the Chamber of Marine Commerce. 

CMC’s Board of Directors can be downloaded here. 

CMC Staff

bburrows8753-5x7

Bruce R. Burrows
President
bburrows@cmc-ccm.com
Biography (PDF)

rturner8533-5x7

Robert Turner
Vice-President, Operations
rturner@cmc-ccm.com
Biography (PDF)

sdouglas9662-5x7

Sarah Douglas
Senior Director, Government and Stakeholder Relations
sdouglas@cmc-ccm.com

 
ptopping9535-5x7

Paul Topping
Director, Regulatory and Environmental Affairs
ptopping@cmc-ccm.com

 
jfields8810-5x7

Julia Fields
Director of Communications
jfields@cmc-ccm.com

 
CMCRAYHS

Raymond Johnston
Secretary Treasurer
rjohnston@cmc-ccm.com

 
ljeannotte8651-5x7

Linda Jeannotte
Senior Administrative Assistant
ljeannotte@cmc-ccm.com